Contact Lifestream



Icq scams …

This is getting really boring now. A couple of weeks ago I received an email from Icq (or so it seemed) that required me to change my password (right in the HTML coded mail). Something didn’t smell right, but for security reasons I changed my password via the Icq webpage instead so that I would be safe either way. The thing that made me most suspicious was the fact that I had changed my primary email a while ago and “Icq” still used my old address.

Dear ICQ user,
The ICQ Inc. is *ing its databases to delete the inactive accounts. Please fill in your ICQ# and your Password and then submit this form by clicking the Send button. This is everything that you have to do to keep your account active. Don’t reply to this mail. After your submission you will be forwarded to our homepage and will be able to read the latest news about ICQ Inc. Unless you confirm us that you are using your ICQ legally by filling the empty spaces, you won’t be able to use your ICQ account after our *ing is over.
With best regards ICQ Inc.

And yesterday I got this second email, this time it just urged me to verify the password to keep the account. Very sleek indeed. Sure, if you’re suspicious like I am, you will never fall for a scam like this anyway, but the design was pretty cunning. Not only have they made a HTML copy of the Icq web page (as it looked a couple of weeks ago mind you!), and collected a massive amount of emails (a few months old at least but still) but they have regged a free account at Bravenet so that they can use formmail to get the passwords.
Looking at the code you see (http://pub47.bravenet.com/emailfwd/senddata.php) as the only recipient of the data. Usernum seems to be 4017727835.

I suppose this is one of the privileges of having a low uin.



OpenDNS

Use OpenDNS

Worthy Causes